No, you are crazy.

I was at a BBQ this weekend the and inevitable, “OHMIGOD you’re crazy!” conversation arose, to which I responded, “Yes, I’m going to be an Ironman.” Perhaps it’s because my friends aren’t athletes, or maybe I’m just really that amazing (right?), or perhaps it’s because I’m so boring that there’s nothing else to talk about, or it could be all of the above but regardless, whenever I’m at a gathering my latest endeavor seems to be a popular conversation topic.

 The latest and greatest, sheesh… I don’t know what could top it in 12.5 months, is IMC and that’s always a fun one to explain. The you’re-going-to-do-what? comments are endless, but on Sunday I recieved my most favorite to date. I realize I haven’t even had the joy of these comments for very long, but still. This one is gold.

There’s NOTHING on earth that I could want that badly to put that much time and energy toward it, and even if I did I just wouldn’t do it.

Really? You wouldn’t work that hard to achieve something that you really wanted? In that case, I feel bad for you for many reasons, including but not limited to the fact that you don’t know what it’s like to have passion and work hard, and you don’t know what it’s like for it to pay off.

To each their own, but what a boring existence some people must have.

Leave a comment

Filed under Training

Leave a Reply

