Post Run Yummy

Or, in the case of this morning, Pre Run Yummy.

This time of year I can’t resist anything that’s pumpkin flavored, so when Lululemon blogged about their autumn take on the smoothie on Friday I made it a point to collect the ingredients yesterday to go alongside my run today. But, with those ingredients sitting calling out to me and whispering my name I couldn’t handle waiting until post-run for some yum, so I tried the Post Run Pumpkin Smoothie as a pre-run fuel up.

The results: Two enthusiastic thumbs up in all categories including taste, energy, easy assembly, and painless cleanup.

The ingredients for their Post Run Pumpkin Smoothie are pretty simple:

  • ½ cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 cup almond milk (I used soy)
  • ½ a banana
  • 1 tbsp of raisins
  • 1 scoop of vanilla protein powder
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • sprinkle nutmeg, cinnamon and ginger

I’ll admit, I skipped the raisins because I couldn’t really picture those going very well in the blender, but I still can’t wait to make it again. I’m not much of a smoothie girl; I’d generally much rather chew my calories, or drink them via wine or beer, but this recipe is simple and delicious, and I have a feeling it’s going to become a regular cold weather snack or breakfast alongside a latte.

For any other pumpkin lovers out there, I’ll share another delicious pumpkin tip that I learned during my seasonal craze last year: pumpkin oatmeal! Make some plain oatmeal with water or milk, add some pumpkin puree for taste and consistency, a sprinkle or two of cinnamon and ginger, and as much brown sugar as your sweet tooth can take in the morning. Voila! Pumpkin Oat Delicious!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fuel For the Cause

Leave a Reply

