ING NYC Marathon

On Sunday morning, thanks to daylight savings, I woke up at 6am ready to roll and just couldn’t get back to sleep. My body felt like it was 7am, meaning only a matter of time ’till rubber meets the pavement, and I was craving a breakfast treat and coffee. As I was debating whether peanut butter or warm blankets would win out I remembered that the ING NYC Marathon guns fired at 6:30am PST. In the end, it was the TV that got me out of bed.

With coffee and fuel (banana peanut butter toast) I watched the top women and men battle it out for 26.2 miles. I was thrilled to see Mutai win after getting to follow in his footsteps (hours later, and much much more slowly) at Boston last year, especially since his time there can’t be considered a record due to the downhill course. Ridiculous, downhill at that grade is not even close to easier! I was pulling for Mary Keitany, especially with everyone proclaiming her pace too fast for anything but a crash and burn. Alas she didn’t save quite enough juice for the end, but man, she has guts.

I wish that I could live in a world of constant race viewing; watching a marathon just never becomes less inspiring to me. As the pro’s finish you think, “wow, they are amazing athletes!” and the first age groupers cross the line you think, “shit, they’re this good and have ‘real’ jobs too!” and the next groups keep coming in the crowd excitement grows to see their family, friends and people just like them celebrate a major accomplishment. And as the last runners make their way to the finish line you think about the demons that they battled to even get to the starting line, and know that their whole day has been a fight. But they still made it. Maybe it is just me, but I could honestly watch the same marathon over and over on loop, and every single time it would be as uplifting as the last.

After watching just a few hours of the ING NY Marathon I pulled the trigger and registered for the Seattle Half Marathon. I’ve been training for it for weeks, and there was no question that I wanted to race it. But watching the world come together for NY made me want to be part of that club, and the Seattle Half is my way to rejoin the running world, for now.

1 Comment

Filed under Professionals

One response to “ING NYC Marathon

  1. Watching a race always makes you want to race! I’ll be spectating at the Seattle Half/Full – I’ll have to get your number or what you’re wearing so I can look for you!

Leave a Reply

