What The World Needs

This morning on Twitter I read a quote from Jordan Rapp:

“If you have a dream, pursue it as hard as you can. The world needs more of that.”

I believe in the truth of his statement with all of my heart. Though I haven’t thought it in such a succinct way nor let it escape, I also haven’t been true to it as of late. Rather than approaching ups and downs as an opportunity to reach far and fix what’s broken, training and (mostly) not-training related, I’ve felt bogged down and buried. Trapped. Apathetic. These things are not me.

You see, I believe I’m only trapped to the extent that I allow myself to be. Excuses are lame. I can pursue what I want much harder than what I am doing right now. And if I feel trapped I should be. Yes, it might take some hard work and waiting, and then more hard work and more waiting. But if I did – in sport and otherwise – things would most certainly be better. Pursuing a dream might make the dream come true, and if it doesn’t, well, at least I’ll know I tried.

The world needs many things, and I don’t need to list them to paint a clear picture. But, the world also needs more passionate, happy, hardworking people. The very effect that we have on others when we’re at our best is enough to make dreaming worth it, let alone the effect that it has on our own hearts.

Leave a comment

Filed under Goals

Leave a Reply

