Bike Wash

I finally toughened up and took My Pretty out for her first outside ride yesterday. It was about 43 degrees. With wet pavement, misty air, occasional sprinkles, official total rain. Temperature-wise I was fine. Dampness-wise I was soaked but not uncomfortable after 2 hours and 30 minutes on the road. Dirt-wise I had gravel and mud everywhere, including in the toes of my socks, under my sports bra, in my pockets, and between my phone and its cover which had been in the inner-most safe spot possible. Winter ride success.

My only complaint is in regards to cleaning my bike after the ride. I spent about 20 minutes trying to rinse away grime and dirt from all the nooks and crannies between the derailleur bits, brake pads, inside of the forks, rear hydration wing, etc. Any easy tips for doing this? Especially when you don’t have a garage or a hose? My current method includes a faucet on the public sidewalk, an old rag, flip flops, and a bottle or pitcher to target tough-to-scrub spots, as well as passing by REI shoppers who see me and simultaneously decide that they actually don’t want a bike because it looks like a lot of work.

Seriously. Let me know. Otherwise I might resort to dog park washing stations.

Also, don’t say fenders. I know I know I know.

1 Comment

Filed under Bike

One response to “Bike Wash

  1. Sounds like a real pain in the butt!

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

