Brick Track Tuesday

Last night at the track was Brick Night, so rather than kill ourselves just running fast we killed ourselves running fast off our bikes.

I’m sure we were a sight to see on our trainers in the grass, changing shoes quickly, and taking off running. It was good practice and good fun though. It’s much easier to catch up with training friends while spinning – I’m far too heavy of a breather to talk while running – and spinning goes way faster while chatting it up as opposed to watching the morning news.

The workout was a 1/2mi warmup (run), 20min spin (bike), 1mi fast (run), 15min spin (bike), 1mi fast (run). The spinning was a total sweatfest, I hit my first mile in 6:45, and the second mile in 6:49. I couldn’t have held on to the run pace for another 400meters even if someone had bribed me with a Whole Foods Berry Chantilly Cake, but I felt pretty able to hang on to the pace for a mile and forced my body to keep form despite screaming burning lungs.

A mile is a good distance to run off the bike. The first 400 your legs say “eff you get me back on the bike NOW’. The second 400 you realize you’re probably running too fast. The third 400 you curse yourself for running so hard. And the last 400 you’ve succumbed to the fate of dying via the run. But as soon as you’re on the bike you forget the pain and want to do it again.

Next time I want to run 3 miles/sessions off the bike, and I want to run faster. My legs weren’t so fresh from Monday’s 40miles (bike) + 1hr @7:47min/mi pace and I think that I could do better.

 

3 Comments

Filed under Training

3 responses to “Brick Track Tuesday

  1. Ha! Trainers at the track. Seems silly, but makes TOTAL sense! I’d say you’re getting back into running again pretty quickly with those paces. You’ll have a great race in CDL.

  2. That sounds like a crazy workout! I don’t know if I could handle a brick workout. I am sure my body would be saying lots of eff yous! Haha.
    I did a 90 minute spin workout tonight and about died. Glad it was in the comfort of my own home and not the gym because sweat was pouring off of my body! It was running down my face and arms. YUCK. 🙂

  3. That sounds like the most painful fun! Love the idea of having the bike trainer at the track.

Leave a Reply

