General Update

So, Ironman is almost here. 27 days away. Insanity.

I haven’t been writing much for a few reasons.

#1. All I do is train, eat, and sleep. And work. I’m not stressed out, but I’m so focused on getting from one of those activities to the next in the most efficient way possible that it doesn’t leave much time to write about how things are going. Or to embellish my stories for my future self! (Kidding)

#2. Training was altered for a bit by an accident that I was in and can’t share the details of. Though I’m still dealing with it on multiple accounts I’m still able to race Ironman Canada. I’m grateful that I can still go, but am disheartened by what’s happened. As time passes I’ve become more polarized too; I find myself going from acting like it didn’t happen – because I wish it didn’t – or breaking down in tears for “no reason” while driving myself home like I did last week.

#3. The breakthroughs just don’t feel that big anymore. I’m getting down to the wire which means more pressure on myself (from myself) and so even when I do something new or great I immediately just feel like that’s what I should be doing by this point in the training cycle. I can’t stop measuring myself against where I wanted to be at this point, and though I may not be too far off I thought I would feel different by now. Because I feel like these things are not significant it makes it uninspiring to try to eeek some writing out of just for the heck of it.

But more is coming soon. There are a few things specifically that I want to write about.

Until then please take a look at my studly husband. On maybe 8 weeks of training he killed a hilly 5k, finishing in the high 18:40’s, on Saturday night at the Seafair Torchlight. Amazing. If I didn’t love him I might hate him be a little bit jealous. πŸ™‚

1 Comment

Filed under Life, Training

One response to “General Update

  1. Hang in there Arielle. I am proud of you and I am so excited for you to compete in IM. I am sending you hugs and lots of positive thoughts. You are strong and you can do this. If you need to vent you can always email me. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

