Are You Ready

In the last 3 weeks I’ve been asked So are you ready? more times than I could possibly count.

Am I ready? Well. I’m as ready as I’m going to be.

This year I haven’t done a great job of tracking things here on the blog, but Training Peaks (where I log my workouts) doesn’t lie. My year in training started out similarly to how last year did, but the last 3 or 4 months were not similar at all. The summer months brought much longer long days, more two-a-days, and more overall hours, but also more rest days too. There were a lot of days when I thought I don’t know if I can do this. And then I did.

For a moment I thought about pulling number of miles swam, ridden, and run, feet climbed, and calories burned, but those numbers don’t really mean anything to you or to me. What means something to me is that I completed every single workout as well as I could. I gave every session my all. Sometimes I wished I had more to give, and a lot of times I wished I was fitter and faster, but all you can give it what you have. And there is nothing more certain in this world to me than that I did just that.

So when I say I’m as ready as I’m going to be, what I mean is that the cards can fall as they may on Sunday and I will have no regrets about my preparation for the day. There are no should have’s, could have’s, or would have’s that I feel leading up to that start line. I do have hopes, dreams, wishes, and some anxiety about what will happen on that day itself, but I am as ready as anyone possibly could be for a day when anything could happen.

1 Comment

Filed under Ironman, Racing

One response to “Are You Ready

  1. You are so ready! Best of luck tomorrow! Excited to see you on the course!

Leave a Reply

